I’ve stopped praying for transformation.

I’ve spent a lot of my time praying for transformation over the years, and I’m just not gonna do it anymore.  Not because I think the prayer is pointless.  But because I realized what I was actually praying for.  It wasn’t transformation.  I was praying for a free pass.

See, I just prayed, “God please transform my life.”  Blah blah blah.  Something like that.  Different variations of that.  But here’s the translation of what was really going on inside my head and my heart:

“Dear Lord!  Please transform me!  And, like, do it in a way that requires nothing from me.  Cool?”

I was praying for God to do all the work.  I was defining transformation as some event that takes place in my life at some point in time when God decides it’s the right time.  Everything before that sucked.  And everything after that was super cool and awesome.

But that’s not what the Bible says about transformation.  The Bible talks about PURSUING your calling.  PURSUING God.  PURSUING your gifts of the spirit.  The very use of the word PURSUING indicates that this is something that both TAKES TIME and REQUIRES EFFORT FROM ME.

So here’s my new prayer.  “God.  I want to be transformed.  You know where I am today, and you know your vision for where you want me to go.  Please show me what you need from me in order to be transformed.  And give me the strength, courage, and focus to pursue it until you give me something new to pursue.”

That’s a little better.  It has me actively looking for opportunities to serve God.  To stick my neck out in ways I hadn’t before.  To be active.  It touches on the whole “faith without works is dead” thing.  I gets me out of my “sit on the couch until God FINALLY transforms me” thing.  Because that kinda wasn’t getting it done.

So dude!  Quit praying for transformation, and start asking God what you need to do to PURSUE it.

Bueno?

Later all.  Go be awesome.  It’s almost like you were built to be or something, ya nut.

Oh and the photo?  No, not me.  That dude is way hotter than me, and has a bigger TV.  Check it out for yourself: http://talkfeed.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/couchpotatofinal.jpg
One thought on “I’ve stopped praying for transformation.

  1. Nanci Haigler Flynn says:

    Actually, I think you’ve already touched on the most important action we can take to further our own transformation … open yourself to God and follow him into the opportunities he opens up before you. The tricky part in that, though, is to make sure we’re following the opportunities God has put before us and not something available to us that we have dredged up on our own.

    At the bottom line, our transformation is our time on the Potter’s wheel, and our highest duty is to cooperate with the Potter as he works the rocks and debris out of the clay that is our humanity, instead of trying to twist away from his touch and dig out our own flaws by ourselves.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

