The power of a clean… garage??

So I cleaned my garage this weekend. Why is this blog-worthy? At the time I was cleaning, it was no big deal. But I kinda knocked it out of the park on this project and you could eat off the floor of my garage right now. I had intended to purge and get rid of about half of the junk I had stored up, but I quickly realized this was all stuff that I used, it’s just tossed about all over the place.

So I let my OCD loose and my garage is actually somewhere I like spending time now. Screwdrivers are lined up in the screwdriver drawer. Wrenches are sorted by size. I have nail guns hanging on peg board. For those of you who are not aware, hanging nailing guns from peg board is a suitable alternative to growing a huge beard if your goal is manliness. Which is good, because my Viking roots betray me and I am beardless. But I digress. Long story short: My garage rocks right now.

So why blog about it? It didn’t really hit me until this morning. I am super happy about the way my garage turned out, and a lot of people don’t have enough storage so they have to park their cars on the driveway and use their garage for storage. How sad. And actually, a lot of people don’t have a garage at all. Even more sad. And now that I think about it, a lot of people don’t have cars. This is getting sadder (if that’s a word).

And then it really hit me. This garage I cleaned out is larger than most homes on this planet. Forget about a place to store my car when it snows, what about people trying to find a place to keep their kids warm through the winter? Or single moms for whom losing their car to a breakdown or repossession means they don’t know how they are going to feed their kids. Forget a garage. There are moms living in their car trying to convince their kids that they have a plan to get a place to live but they have no idea where to go.

Wow. This got real in a hurry. I have it good.

I suddenly became overrun with a sense of thankfulness. I stopped to pray my thanks for this home I have, the job I have, my wife, my kids, my car. My drawer full of screwdrivers and sorted wrenches. I prayed for people who live lives that do not allow them to even fathom the thought of owning a structure that exists for the sole purpose of storing a car and stuff we use for decorations once a year.

So I am feeling blessed today. And as is often the case, I feel like passing that blessing on. I don’t have any specific ideas of how to do that today but I’ll work on it. I’ll try to find something before the end of the day. And I thought I’d pass that along.

What blessings are your sitting in the middle of that often don’t even feel like blessings? Leave a comment! I read them all.

Every day is a good day. Today included. Hope you enjoy yours.

5 thoughts on “The power of a clean… garage??

  1. bunnyb1802 says:

    I spent the afternoon cleaning the car, a very dirty car. But I have a car, I have a way to get from A to B. I have a home as well as the car, it’s a nice home in a beautiful location. I sometimes get fed up when I’m doing housework or cleaning the car.
    But now I realise how fortunate I am to have either one to clean.
    The old hymn is right “Count your blessings, count them one by one.”

    Like

  2. Beautiful reminder of how we should view life on a daily basis. I am thankful for my three healthy children. My youngest graduated from high school last night. Now Mama has to make some serious money because they will all be in college next year! Hoping God is going to provide. 🙂

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

