Lightening Up a Bit

I have been putting so much pressure on myself to knock it out of the park on every post, that I’ve done what a lot of bloggers do.  I’ve stopped posting.  The fact is that I’m a dad, a lawyer, a husband, Sunday school teacher, debt crisis helping dude (how’s that for a title?).  It’s a lot.  Someday I’d love to be a full time author because, in case you haven’t noticed, I have a lot to say.  But for now, I’ve got a great job, amazing kids who need my time, and an awesome wife who (for some reason) likes hanging out with me.  And I had better spend some time on my health or none of any of this will matter much.

So I’m rethinking things a little bit around here.  Lightening up a bit.  The whole point of my blog is to get people to tell their story.  To live their life as their witness so that people become curious about why you are the way you are.  Then you form a relationship and tell them what it was that transformed your life.  But something occurred to me: I DON’T DO THAT!

Hey listen, I’m not the first know-it-all that tells everyone else what to do.  But I think I’ll pull myself out of that club, eh?  So things are going to look a little different around here.  Fewer pictures.  I know they help with SEO but I just don’t have the time.  More of my story.  But don’t worry: I’ll still hassle you about telling your story now and again.  And to be honest, less of an attempt to create “earth shattering” posts.  This will just be the story of a guy who does his best to be a Christian and nails it from time to time, and blows it just as often.

Love you guys!  Here we go.

5 thoughts on “Lightening Up a Bit

  1. Hi Jim, I appreciate and commend you on your commitment to ‘lighten’ up. Your role as husband and father is priceless and so often our desire to ‘do good’ can distract us from what is truly important our family. I look forward to continue reading your blog as I believe there is great witness in sharing our own journey, both the ups and the downs. God Bless you and your family.

    Like

    • Elke, thanks so much for your kind words. Being a dad is one of the most underappreciated opportunities and responsibilities in life, and sadly this lack of appreciation for the role of dads is very evident in many of the issues we have in our society today. I love it, the good parts and even the tough parts.

      Like

  2. bunnyb1802 says:

    Jim, always love your posts. Encouraging, challenging, food for thought, humorous (yes, I’m noting the British spelling of humorous – LOL) and just generally a good read of a top chap.

    I admire you and some of the other bloggers I follow who write regular posts that always have something great to say. I wish I could do the same but laziness, life and other stuff sometimes gets in the way.

    As much as I have aspirations to be a writer, I guess I don’t have the same committment as you guys.

    But I am pleased to hear you haven’t decided to chuck it all in (I wondered) and look forward to seeing the changes your epiphany has brought with regards to the blog.

    You have a great “voice”, Jim, don’t hesitate to use it but never at the expense of your family and committments.
    God bless.

    Like

    • Dude if there is a standard you are trying to live up to you can shoot a lot higher than me!! For me it’s not an issue of being disciplined about writing. I have so much bubbling up inside me, every time I write a post I think of five more than still need to be written. For me the problem is perfectionism. Every post has to have the perfect photo, and I have to have legal rights to use it, and I have to credit the photographer, and I have to be 1000% impactful and change lives, and on and on and on. It’s a ton of pressure that I put on myself that simply doesn’t need to be there. I just need to tell my story, day by day. As simple as that. Ironically it’s what I tell everyone else to do all the time.

      Definitely haven’t chucked it, and I’m looking forward to this slightly new direction. Hoping you’ll let those amazing words you have in your head flow as often as possible.

      Side note: This is the first time in my life I’ve been referred to as a “top chap” so I’m marking that on my calendar. From one top chap to another!

      Like

      • bunnyb1802 says:

        It’s a terribly British thing to say “top chap” but totally complimentary. You, sir, are a top chap 🙂

        As to the perfectionism, yeah, I relate to that. It’s why I don’t write. I’m scared of the voice of criticism that says “that’s utter garbage. what are you doing? Don’t embarrass yourself!”

        But ultimately, it comes down to what you said, we need (both of us and all those others who struggle with perfectionism in writing/bloggin) to just tell our story.

        Here’s to being real and telling our story and so what if it’s not perfect! Woo hoo. I smell freedom there!

        Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

