Saturday Night Worship Song

What exactly do I say about this song? It moves me. it seems to capture my nervousness about radical abandonment perfectly. It feels like I will drown. In my head I know that God wouldn’t let that happen. But wow does it feel like it. So I chicken out. Our worship band at church has done this song and literally brought me to tears. I’m talking the “gotta sit down and make people think I’m a nutball because I’m crying in church” type tears. “Lead to deeper waters where feet may fail.” Yeah. That part where our lives stop working unless God is in them. It makes me think of something David Platt said in his book Radical. “If your life mainly consists of going to work and catching the game on the weekend you probably DON’T need prayer.” Tough words. But a reminder that if we’re not feeling the absolute desperate need to pray it’s because we’re not living our lives on the edge where God wants us.

I could babble on forever about this song. But enough from me. What do YOU think about this song? What worship song moves YOU?

We were built to be heroes. It’s about time we started acting like heroes.

10 thoughts on “Saturday Night Worship Song

  1. bunnyb1802 says:

    Hahaha, sorry Jim. Hope it didn’t end up being a stupidly late night. As for that prayer, still working up the courage but I know it will be one of the best prayers I pray. Sleep well, bro!

    Like

  2. bunnyb1802 says:

    There are a few reactions to certain lines of this amazing song that I have.

    “You’ve never failed and you won’t start now” makes my heart feel full of praise when I think of all the times when God has waded into to my messed up life because of some dumb decision I made. And more so the times when, as I was going through stuff, I thought He had left me alone to drown but then, after, I look back and see I only survived because He was holding onto me and extending protection and grace that I didn’t deserve.

    then the bridge gets me…

    “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
    Let me walk upon the waters
    Wherever You would call me
    Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
    And my faith will be made stronger
    In the presence of my Savior”

    I want to cry when I hear this. I want to cry because it’s the longing of my heart. That sounds very good and Christian, doesn’t it? Now here’s the flip side to this. I also want to cry because I listen to the words and realise that this is a dangerous prayer because if I mean this, God will answer and I may have to go through stuff so that I can have trust without borders, faith being made stronger. Not that God will create circumstances or thrust me into the path of bad things but rather because life inevitably had ups and downs and in my downs, God will use that to grow faith and a trust in him which won’t waver. Am I ready for this? Do I mean the words of that song or am I just blindly singing them and not listening to what I am essentially praying to Him?

    This is such an amazing song.
    Thanks Jim!

    Like

    • “A dangerous prayer” It’s 11:00. I need to get to bed. And then you write the words “a dangerous prayer” and now I have to write a blog post. Your words are amazing, an inspiration, a challenge, a confrontation. You are awesome. Pray your dangerous prayer.

      Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

