That’s it! I’m going to stop trying.

This is all way too difficult.  I’m just going to stop trying.  I’m going to stop trying to get healthy.  I’m going to stop trying to hit my goals at work.  I’m going to stop trying to read scripture.  I’m going to stop trying to pray regularly.  I’m done with it all.  I’m just going to stop trying.

See, here’s the thing with trying.  When I say, “I’m going to try to read the Bible every day” what I am really saying is “The Bible is not a very high priority for me but if other things that are more important don’t happen to come up then I will read the Bible.”  You see, in the United States I don’t need to TRY to read the Bible.  I just need to pick it up and start reading.  There are nations where this is not true.  If I am under the threat of prison for even owning a Bible, then perhaps the phrase “I am going to TRY to read the Bible” makes a little more sense.  But in my world, where I live, I don’t ever need to try to read the Bible.  I just need to pick it up and read it.  If I “fail” it’s not really a failure.  I just decided that something else was more important.  Simple.

I also don’t really need to “try” to exercise.  I have a basement full of every piece of exercise equipment known to man.  If I “fail” to exercise it is not because there was an insurmountable force which I was unable to overcome.   I just didn’t do it.  There is a touch of drama queen in me.  Perhaps in all of us.  So I kind of like being really dramatic about my “struggle” to develop my faith and take care of my body.  Let’s be honest: That’s a little insulting to the group of families huddling in a different home every week to avoid having their church activities detected by local government.  It’s a little insulting to the soldier returning from war with fewer limbs than when we enlisted.

So I’m going to stop trying.  When it’s time to get up, I’ll just get up.  I won’t try to.  When it’s time to go to bed (hence facilitating the getting up) I’ll just go to bed.  I won’t try to.  When it’s time to hop on the treadmill, I’ll just hop on it.  I won’t try to.  I will stop building in a struggle that I have convinced myself exists.  It doesn’t.  It’s an invention of my head to make me feel like I’m putting in a big effort to overcome something that is a fiction of my own invention.

So today I, the day I am writing this, I walked a mile and a half, lifted some weights, and read some of the best blogs on the planet (see the list on the right over there…).  And now it’s time to stop typing.  Because I don’t need to try to leave for work on time.  I just need to leave…  like nowish.

Stop trying to be awesome.  It’s already in you.  Just like I have a room full of exercise equipment in the basement, you’ve got a soul full of awesome looking to leak out… if you let it.  So let it!

We were built to be heroes.  It’s about time we started acting like heroes.

7 thoughts on “That’s it! I’m going to stop trying.

  1. Try before you buy, try before you die, savour the flavour, a sliver berings a quiver. Too much trying is trying. No trying is dying.

    Why have I gone rhyming this timing? Not even trying to understand. When he moves to a poet, I just go with him. Just rummage with love. Trying the words on for size. Loving the rummaging. 🙂

    Like

  2. Very good words we need to take to heart. It’s so easy and commonplace for all of us to overuse that word try. Someone I once knew used to always use the phrase “don’t try, just do”. Makes good sense.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

