Rebooting the reboot that I rebooted last time I rebooted.

Reboot.  That thing you do when it’s all such a mess that fixing seems like a waste of time. Just turn it off and then back on again. And cross your fingers that the damn thing works when it comes back on.

I reboot myself all the time. The solution to whatever it is that is wrong with me is to just “start fresh.”  Yeah.  Well what would you say to a guy who had rebooted every few days and his computer was still broken?  You’d tell him that rebooting ain’t getting it done. Right?

Well I can tell you… rebooting ain’t getting it done. There is no overhaul that suddenly makes doing the things I know I need to be doing any easier. There are no two buttons I can hold down for five seconds that suddenly restart me and make stopping the things I should not be doing any easier.

There is no blue pill. There is no red pill. There is just today. And I’m actually not “behind schedule”  on anything. There is no need to play catch up. I am where I am today and I have one day to take this body of mine and do something with it.

I can’t do twice as much tomorrow to make up for wasting today.  So today I pick this body up with everything that’s wrong with it and I do something amazing with it. I heal it. Or to be more accurate I stop damaging it and watch it heal itself by the grace of the one who created it.

I don’t think I can do that everyday. But today is not everyday. Today is today. I can make use of it or I can waste it. God gives me that choice, which I hate sometimes. Oh to be a mindless drone from time to time.

Off I go. Taking care of the first gift I was ever given. No line on the sand. No “this is serious this time.”  Just me using the only day I currently have in my possession to honor the first gift I ever got.

We were built to be heroes. It’s about time we started acting like heroes.

7 thoughts on “Rebooting the reboot that I rebooted last time I rebooted.

  1. bunnyb1802 says:

    Love your take on this Jim. Every year across the world, a large number of people do the New Year resolution thing of paying for a gym membership or buying equipment to “start over” and I’m as guilty of that as the next person. But ultimately, as you quite rightly point out, we have today.
    You just might have finally reached me on the exercise thing!

    Like

  2. “Just me using the only day I currently have in my possession to honor the first gift I ever got.”
    May your 4.00am only day be as gentle and loving as your 4.00am always words.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

