You don’t REALLY need to pray all the time…

native-american-hat_l

David Platt wrote a book called Radical (buy it!) where he calls us out on our life of prayer.  He’s pretty blunt about it.  He says, basically, that if you’re leading a life that consists mainly of going to work, catching some TV and grabbing dinner out every once in a while you probably really don’t NEED prayer in your life.

Read the Bible and there are portions of it where you see this absolutely desperate type of prayer.  Why don’t I pray like that?  Well the answer is pretty simple.  I’m not living on the edge.  I don’t really NEED to pray to live the way I do.  I am secure.  I get by pretty well without prayer, at least by my own standards.

But don’t get me wrong.  I’m not saying life without prayer is okay.  What I’m saying is that living a life that doesn’t require desperate prayer is empty.  I’m starting to see that.  I live a life that does not require desperate prayer.  The solution is not to simply pray more.  It’s to stick my neck out and do the radical things that make me desperate for prayer because I can’t even fathom doing them on my own.

So I have this little thing in the works.  A big thing, actually.  And I’m nervous about it.  All this talk.  All this blogging.  All these ideas.  It’s about to turn into something that blows the doors off of my comfortable existence.  It’s going to immerse me into an environment where I am no longer talking to people who mostly already agree.  I am going to have the opportunity to dive headfirst into a community that includes a lot of non-believers.  Non-believers that, for the most part, hate each other.  And it will be my job to bring them together.  Yeah.  I think I’m going to need to pray a bit more.

I’m a bit scared.  So I’ve started praying.  Praying differently than before.  Praying like I mean it.  Praying like I really need God’s help to pull this off.  Because to do what I’m about to do, I will most definitely need the help of God himself because it’s way over my head.

So far I’ve lived a life where I rather frequently FORGET to pray.  Screw that.  I want to live a life where I’m scared NOT to pray.  Where I’m so close to the edge that prayer is the only thing keeping me from falling over it.  And I’m about to get that chance.  The chance to turn back the hands of time and hundreds or even thousands of years of fighting and hate.

So I’m praying.  Like never before.  And I’m thankful to have all of you along for the ride.

More to come.

We were built to be heroes.  And I just got my chance to be a hero.

Photo credit: madhankumarbs / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND
9 thoughts on “You don’t REALLY need to pray all the time…

  1. I’ve noticed my prayers turning over the past years. We need to be desperate in our prayers. We need God to fill us so we can go out and empty ourselves, completely!
    I am interested in seeing exactly what you are talking about… in the meantime, prayer for God to burn it deep in your soul!

    Like

  2. I took your advice and Radical just arrived at the library for me to read. I let you know my thoughts, but I agree with you here, that meaningful prayer is something everyone needs, even those who don’t know it yet! It will change your life. I’m looking forward to hearing about the changes you are planning!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

