“An undeserving beggar…”

father-and-child-2_l

If you aren’t reading Chris Martin’s blog regulary, you need to be. This post is a copy/paste of a comment he left on a post I did about things getting messy when you abandon yourself to God. And he nails it, as usual. Here is his comment:

“To radically abandon ourselves to God is scary as crap. Somehow, we think that if we stay further away from Him, He won’t know what’s going on inside of us. Ha. This is the guy who placed billions of stars in the universe by merely breathing them into existence. He knows the exact number of sand granules there are on a beach. He knows how broken we are inside and all about the junk we bring to the table.

“Despite all of that, He sent His one and only Son to become like us, to go through everything we would ever endure, and sacrifice everything for the mess we are. His love strips away the filthy rags that we continue to hold onto, thinking we aren’t worthy of His friendship. I can’t possibly understand it all with my puny little mind, but I’m past the point of trying to hide who I am.  I am nothing more than an undeserving beggar lying prone at the feet of Jesus. As the tears pour down my face, my Daddy picks me up, dusts me off, and reminds me that I am a child of royalty. The son of the King who is above all others.”

Damn straight Chris.  You’re the man.

We were built to be heroes. It’s about time we started acting like heroes.

Photo credit: Elfleda / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND
2 thoughts on ““An undeserving beggar…”

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

