“I can’t fix everything, so God isn’t real.”

injustice-cant-be-stopped-by-inaction

“God has given us the right, the power, the wisdom and the crown to change and affect this world positively. No matter how small it might be, we have to contribute and effect a change anytime, anyday, anywhere there is injustice. We need to feel the pains of others and speak.”

Comment posted by blogger OsaroboHenry.  You should check out his blog!

Perhaps this is an American thing.  We have such an appetite for instant gratification.  But we as a culture have lost the belief in our ability to do amazing, shocking, stunning things through the power of God.  I am in this boat.  I don’t have the answer.  I do not feel that I have the ability to heal the sick.  To bring peace to the entire world.  To end poverty, etc.  To end injustice.  My conclusion?  God isn’t real.  These stories from the Bible are just stories, after all.

And then one of my wisest readers made the comment above and it reminded me that the small changes I am able to bring into the world matter.  Yes, I would love to walk into a hospital, wave my hand, and heal everyone in it.  But who gets the glory for that?  In my mind’s image, I do.  Nothing good ever came from God in order to glorify man.  God works through us to glorify himself.  Why?  Because putting man up on a pedestal leads to destruction.  Putting God on a pedestal leads to greatness.

This comment was made on my post about Stephen Biko and Nelson Mandela.  These were two men who brought amazing change to the world.  Perhaps I will be called to do the same someday.  But until that day that I get the “BIG CALL”, I will continue to answer my little call, which is this: Spend everything minute of every day in obedience to God.  Bend to his will.  Let the world see you do it.  And thereby make disciples.

I don’t like bending to his will.  That could be a blog all on its own.  But I am praying for my heart (and skull) to soften so that I can more desire to bend to his will.  Perhaps then, and only then, will I get my “big call.”  But there, there I go again.  Putting myself at the center of it all.

I’m growing.  I’m not there yet.  But I’m growing.  Thanks for walking along side me and for your amazing comments and insights.

We were built to be heroes.  It’s about time we started acting like heroes.

Photo credit: Viewminder / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND
One thought on ““I can’t fix everything, so God isn’t real.”

  1. There have been several times where after the fact, sometimes years later, I ask myself “Was that God telling me something?” More often than not, I know it was. I pray every day now to be able to recognize what God wants me to do!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

