Taking the Plunge: Tithing (and why I thought I couldn’t)

diver2_l

I posted a while back about some ways that I fall short as a Christian.  Simple things that just need to be fixed.  One of them was failing to tithe.  And it has been bothering me ever since.  The issue was brought to a head recently as our church did a series on going beyond your comfort zone and trusting God.

My thought was this.  I want to tithe.  I think, most months, we would be able to pull it off.  But there would be months that we just don’t have it.  Can we commit to that?  I have friends who have tithed through months of unemployment.  Here I am claiming that it’s impossible for me to tithe.  The other issue is debt.  We’re buried in debt.  Some of it is pretty dumb debt.  Regardless, it interferes with our ability to tithe.  Without the debt, tithing would be no problem.  So we basically pre-spent our tithe for years and now we have to dig out.

Those are the excuses.  What was the REAL issue with tithing?  I thought the problem was my wife.  We had never really gone into detail on it because the conversation went sideways pretty quickly whenever it came up.  Not sure why.  But for whatever reason, I was under the very clear impression that my wife had no interest in doing a full tithe.  And that she’d be mad if I brought it up.

So the issue finally came to a head (peacefully) and instead of getting into whether we should tithe or not, I just asked her what amount she would be willing to give.  That amount is about $13.00 a month short of a full tithe for us.  Are you kidding me?!?

Literally, for years, I’ve avoided this subject.  If I were to be completely honest with myself, I would have to say that I probably didn’t have a genuine desire to tithe and just used this invented argument as a means to blame it on someone else.

Bottom line: We’re in.  Deep end.  No life jacket.  We’re tithing.  So…. now I suppose I should go back and read the rest of that list of dumb mistakes I’m making and pick another…

What is holding you back from doing something that you just know you should be doing?  Maybe it’s tithing, maybe it’s getting out of debt, maybe it’s finally picking up the phone and calling your dad after all these years.

Challenge yourself: Is it really as impossible as you have convinced yourself?

We were built to be heroes.

It’s about time we started acting like heroes.

Photo credit: Foter.com / Public Domain Mark 1.0
22 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge: Tithing (and why I thought I couldn’t)

  1. According to the saying, that obedient is better than sacrifice. I really thank God for Chris Martin for his great testimony. Through tithing, God can give you and your family good health, security in your work, protection in every area of your life, uncommon favor, increase in every area of your life. The most funniest part of not paying the tithe is that if one decide not to pay his tithe, he will spend that money for irrelevant purpose like frequenting the mechanic workshop, it might be frequenting hospital or any other irrelevant expenditure. The other thing is that when things like this are happening, it takes His grace for one to know that it is because of the refusal in tithing that is attracting the irrelevant expenditure. One might think how can I run irrelevant expenditure? It will always come when you don’t expect it no matter your level of intelligent. Many years back when we were not tithing, in one way or the other, we were spending that money which we were suppose to give to God in ways we don’t know. But ever since we decided to give what is God to God, no matter the situation or circumstance, He has really be moving in our lives the way we don’t expect.

    Like

  2. To obey God completely, we need to put our selfish taught aside and face the reality of things. According to the saying, that obedient is better than sacrifice. I really thank God for Chris Martin for his great testimony. When you open your heart for Him to be used, the first thing that will should think of is, complete obedient right from the word go. Through tithing, God can give you and your family good health, security in your work, protection in every area of your life, uncommon favor, increase in every area of your life because He said give and it shall be given unto you. The most funniest part of not paying the tithe is that if one decide not to pay his tithe, he will spend that money for irrelevant purpose like frequenting the mechanic workshop, it might be frequenting hospital or any other irrelevant expenditure. The other thing is that when things like this are happening, it takes His grace for one to know that it is because of the refusal in tithing that is attracting the irrelevant expenditure. One might think how can I run irrelevant expenditure? It will always come when you don’t expect it no matter your level of intelligent. Many years back when we were not tithing, in one way or the other, we were spending that money which we were suppose to give to God in ways we don’t know. But ever since we decided to give what is God to God, no matter the situation or circumstance, He has really be moving in our lives the way we don’t expect. Sorry my comment is really very long but I do hope it will be of great value.

    Like

  3. All I can say is that you can never give enough. I have to admit, that in the times we have tithed despite our dept and fear, we have always been blessed in some way. Sometimes financially, sometimes in other ways. But tithing is a solid way to affirm your faith in God and His infinite ability to provide and care for His children. There are times we are more faithful in tithing than others, but it takes a renewal of the mind, and a remimder to not be conformed to the monetary standards and wants of this world – which is not our home. Also – it just plain feels good to give – be it compassion, time, talent, or money!

    Like

  4. Bill says:

    Honest question based in curiosity mostly. Where does your tithe, and the gifts other members of your church go? What is the end result? Does it roll up into a larger collection from other parishes in your (synod? etc.)? As someone who is studying Catholicism as part of my conversion, I am examining this very question as it applies to that organization and our local diocese all the way up to the Vatican, but for your church, I’m less clear.

    Like

    • In our church, the first ten percent of everything they receive goes to other organizations such as World Vision, etc. So our church tithes it’s tithes. I believe a portion goes to the ELCA (mainly because I don’t know how else the ELCA would pay its bills) and the rest goes into our ministry. Our budget is left open, I just haven’t reviewed it in detail. Your comment makes me think I should.

      Like

  5. The good thing is that nothing is impossible with God. We give when He tells us too. No matter what bills we have piled up. I know without a doubt that He will provide us the money to pay bills. It’s exciting/scary when we get a $400 unexpected bill from the stupid IRS and God tells us to give money away to someone else. Three years ago, I wouldn’t have even entertained the thought. I would have set aside the money for our bill, and prayed that God would provide for the other need. Now, I’m opposite. I will give to the other need and pray God provides for ours.

    Couple years ago, we had no car. Ours needed over $1000 worth of work, and we had already put too much into it. We listed it on Craigslist with the intent of selling it and putting that money toward another vehicle. Well, God had other plans. We sold the car for $700, and God told us to give that money to a friend who needed surgery and couldn’t afford it. It went against any common sense a human could ever had. But, He said give. We gave. We went nearly an entire year without our own car. We used friend’s cars, ministry vehicles, etc. Finally, when His timing was right, He had a couple give to us financially and that money helped us finally get a car.

    God is awesome. He has us risk everything for Him, but He always provides.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I read all of them!

